top of page


Image by Benjamin Child

SDMEA relies on committees to perform the association's more important work on legislative activities, communications, training, and event planning. SDMEA appreciates the individuals currently serving as committee members and would like to invite any interested members to volunteer. 

Legislative and Communications Committee

  • Responsible for monitoring and tracking all legislative activities and developing lobbying strategies and communication plans to respond.

  • Responsible for developing communication and marketing plans to aid in the promotion of the South Dakota Municipal Electric Association and its members.


Committee Members:

  • Russell Halgerson / SDMEA Board President, Brookings

  • Robert Peterson / SDMEA Director of Electrical Services

  • Ann Hyland / Heartland Energy

  • Kelly Dybdahl / Heartland Energy

  • Deb Birgen / Missouri River Energy Services

Operations and Conference Committee

  • Responsible for planning, organizing, and hosting the annual Superintendent/Foreman Conference.

  • Responsible for informing the SDMEA board and associated members with safety and operational topics or changes in safety regulations that might affect our member communities.


Committee Members:

  • Ryan Thompson / Brookings Municipal Utilities

  • Chad Collins / City of Volga

  • Brian Benson / Watertown Municipal Utilities

  • Kyle Hills / Sioux Falls Traffic, Light and Power

  • Travis Tarr / Vermillion Light & Power

  • Robert Peterson / SDMEA Director of Electrical Services

bottom of page